Premed 101 Forums

Advice on writing a CV for a research assistant position with no research experience

ban1o

So I'm a first year student applying to be a research assistant in a lab for the summer and they want me to submit my CV. However I have no research experience whatsoever. What should I include in my CV? So far I have the university I attend, scholarships I have gotten, my approximate grades, work experience(In high school every summer I would work for my dad's pharmacy), and a lot of volunteer experience and extra-curriculars (most of it isn't health or science related). I don't know what else to include though. Should I include relevant courses I have taken in university and what I learned from them? I need help? Do you have advice for making a CV for a research position? Please I need help!

Sounds like you're off to a good start. For what it's worth, I wouldn't worry too much about not having any past research experience. You're a first year student! That's expected. If you're applying for a position that's normally filled by other students, then I wouldn't worry about it.

Research is a job, like any other. The boss knows that he or she will have to provide training to the person they hire. It's easy to teach someone the technical skills of a job. Much harder to teach them how to have a good work ethic, punctuality, responsibility, respect for coworkers...that's what I would be looking for, if I was hiring a research assistant (I say this after having worked in a lab for two years).

If you can show from your CV that you're a hardworking and conscientious person who is ready to learn, you will stand a good chance.

Good luck.