Premed 101 Forums

Radiology Research: writing a review paper vs primary research?

I'm being offered a great opportunity to do research in the next 8-12 months (it will be concurrent with my studies as we don't have summers at Mac), and there are a number of projects to choose from. They are all in Radiology (which I am 90% sure is what I want to do).

I'm debating between writing a review paper which sounds easier, or doing a project. Pros for the former are shorter time commitment and faster project in general from start to paper submission, while the latter is actual research involving discovering new knowledge.

I'm leaning towards writing a review paper, but my worry is how this will be viewed for CaRMS. Wouldn't a review paper be considered of lower value than a primary research manuscript? However, since I am still in first year, I'm thinking I should go with the review and if I decide to stick to Radiology then I can always do another primary research study. Thoughts?

All else being equal, my advice would be to take the review project. As long as you put in the work, you are guaranteed to get a publication out of it. With primary research, so many things can go wrong that are outside of your control which can result in weeks/months of work going down the toilet (guess how I know how).

You should consider the track record of the person/people you will be working with (do they get a lot published, are they available for support, etc). You should consider your personal interest in the research too - having research is always nice, but if you are excited about it, and can convey that enthusiasm to someone who is interviewing you, that is far better.

Questions to consider:

- Is this an invited review article? Is publication guaranteed?