Premed 101 Forums

OT at McMaster

Hey guys!

I am currently an OT student at McMaster. The process of deciding which school to go to is a tough one, so I thought I might be able to help! If anyone has any questions about the teaching style at Mac and wants more information let me know and I would be happy to answer any of your questions. Or about Mac in general. Or about OT in general!

Hey guys!

I am currently an OT student at McMaster. The process of deciding which school to go to is a tough one, so I thought I might be able to help! If anyone has any questions about the teaching style at Mac and wants more information let me know and I would be happy to answer any of your questions. Or about Mac in general. Or about OT in general!

Wow that is do nice of you!! What is it you love about OT there? What are some things you dislike?

Wow that is do nice of you!! What is it you love about OT there? What are some things you dislike?

I love a lot of things about Mac, we have some world class profs who all genuinely care about our learning, the PBL style of learning is amazing, it is the first time I feel like I am actually absorbing knowledge (unlike my undergrad in which I felt I was regurgitating and then forgetting). The organization of the courses is great in my opinion, one course focuses on OT theory which helps build your clinical reasoning skills, one course focuses on practical skills (more hands on) and the other course is the foundation knowledge piece (anatomy, psych, etc.). I also looooove my classmates.

My dislike is also something I like about the program so it's a bit tricky. I sometimes dislike the focus on self-directed learning. There are times when I am frustrated and want a simple straight forward answer, but the program is really focused on finding your own solutions and problem solving for yourself to find the answer, which is also an important life skill I will be also to use in practice.