Premed 101 Forums

Cold-emailing for research

Hi everyone, I'm a medical student who's been trying to look for summer research, and so far I've had no luck. I was thinking about cold-emailing profs and offering to work without pay, but I just wanted to ask, do you guys think it's a good idea to include in my initial email that I would be willing to work for free? Or should I just continue emailing asking for positions without specifying paid or unpaid? I'm mostly interested in doing some sort of research this summer, not really in the $, but I'm wondering if there's some disadvantage to unpaid research e.g. doesn't look as good on CaRMS, relegated to menial work, no chance of pubs, etc.?

If there are any ways to get into research this late other than through the school programs and through cold-emailing, I'd appreciate your help on that as well. Thanks for your advice!

It's definitely too late to apply for some of the more well known programs (St. Michael's, Sick Kids, etc). Your best chance right now is to send emails to professors (preferably at your university) but don't hold your breath since a lot of them might be full at this point.

I personally wouldn't specify paid or unpaid. You might find someone who is kind enough to give you money.

I don't know too much about CaRMS but generally if you get paid then you're expected to do more serious work (which would lead to publications, poster presentations, etc) while if you're volunteering you're probably going to do grunt work (staining/preparing buffers/protein expression if wet-lab, data input if clinical). This would depend on the professor though.

It's definitely too late to apply for some of the more well known programs (St. Michael's, Sick Kids, etc). Your best chance right now is to send emails to professors (preferably at your university) but don't hold your breath since a lot of them might be full at this point.