Premed 101 Forums

Burnout / Leave of absence

mistah_g

Hello everyone,

I’ve been using these forums for a long time (since my pre-med days, and I’m currently a resident), and I was actually hoping to post this under a different handle (for anonymity), but unfortunately it seems the PM101 registration / email system isn't working properly currently. So I'm posting this knowing that some of you may recognize who I am, but I seriously need some advice.

I am an internal medicine resident, and I am having some difficulties currently, and so I am looking for some advice from people in general or perhaps from anyone who has been in a similar situation.

The long and short of it is – I’m burnt out. I’m so burnt out that I just can’t go on anymore. Every day is a struggle, to get out of bed, to eat, to go to work, to even think is tough. I took on way too much despite the fact that I was working crazy resident hours. And I haven’t had a break in the longest time – all of my summers during medical school and before residency were spent working or doing something else unrelated to “taking time off”.

I’m exhausted, it’s affecting my physical health, and it’s affecting how I look after patients – the latter of which is my biggest concern. I’m not learning anything, I can’t focus, my memory is terrible, I can’t sleep, blah blah – the list goes on.

I am thus considering applying for a leave of absence. I’m already in communication with our resident wellbeing / student affairs office, and I will be meeting with them soon. I also have a doctor whom I’ve been seeing regularly (burnout obviously doesn’t just occur over night). I’ve made appointments with both of these people in the coming days.