Premed 101 Forums

Mock 29: practicing on recently deceased patients

Guest shutterbug

Guest shutterbug

A patient in the ER has recently expired...your resident then asks if you want to practice a procedure on the cadaver since 'it will be a while before the relatives get here'. What do you do?

Guest lots of thinking

There must be stricter regulations than just letting a student perform procedures on a cadaver. First of all I would think it would depend on whether the patient has signed to allow their bodies to be used for research.....:rolleyes

Guest hmsdread

Hmm, well I'm just a first year student, but I can say with relative confidence that this scenario is a loooooong shot to occur. (I mean, REALLY long). At least there is no way it would ever go down the way it was described in this scenario, ie. "practice a procedure".

Also, just because you're dead, that doesn't make you a cadaver. Even if the recently deceased proclaimed from the top of a building that their one wish in life was to have medical students learn from them after death, there is still a certain procedure that takes place of embalming, fixing, etc. You don't actually see cadavers in the lab until at least 6 months or so after they died.

There is a great deal of respect for the dead and especially for cadavers amongst medical professionals - I personally can't see anyone ever offering you such a scenario, and if by some wild chance someone did - well, I would hope that it would be a very open and close decision on what to do.

hmsdread

Guest Carolyn

I have never heard of such a thing happening! I think 99.9% of physicians, residents and students would look at whoever suggested it with absolute disgust and amazement...

That is the kind of story you hear from way back...

Don't worry, there is a very very very slim chance you would be asked to practice a procedure on a cadaver!