Premed 101 Forums

GPA calculation/ entrance requirements

I'm wondering if NOSM would calculate my GPA if I sent them my transcripts. My educational background is unique, and, while there is definitely a significant upward trend in grades, my I did not do well in my first undergrad. I don't think I could accurately calculate it myself based on the information from the website.

I'm also wondering if I'm the kind of applicant they are looking for. I'm definitely a non trad! I've lived/worked/volunteered in northern communities (albeit in Manitoba not Ontario). Right now I'm a public health nurse in one of these northern communities. I also have rural volunteer experience from growing up in Newfoundland. So when it comes to community involvement, I'm all over it. I can also get excellent LORs and verifiers for all of the activities I have been involved in.

I have quite a bit of life experience that I know is valued at this school, but depending on how they calculate my GPA, I might not even meet the cut off. As well, if I do just make the cut off, would I still be considered a decent applicant due to my experience? (I'm OP btw) Any advice is appreciated :)

Do you have a second UG (your mention of your first leads me to believe you have a second?). NOSM uses all marks across all semesters (summer, part-time etc) to calculate GPA. However, if you have completed 2 UGs (or are in the process of completing your second) they will calculate each degree separately and will use the best of the two.

Your experiences sound just like what NOSM is looking for. Context is always a mystery but if you have been in a northern rural community for a significant period of time (assuming you weren't born in one) that will definitely help.