Premed 101 Forums

Gpa to get accepted

Hi,

I know this question has already been asked several times, but I would like to know what are my chances for to get in at Ottawa-u.

I have a 3.84 gpa (for my 3 most recents year) and many curriculars (many volunteering, for example a humanitary trip to Africa). I have a bachelor in engineering from Univrsity of Ottawa.

Also, I live in Gatineau. The admission office told me that when you live in the Gatineau-Ottawa region, the gpa cuttof to advance in the selection process (i.e. to get your CV evaluated) is lower.

Does that mean that people from Ottawa-Gatineau region have better chances to get in ? And what are my chances to get in ? Please be honest, I really want to know! (and I will apply for the French program)

Thanks!

Ana.

Hi Ana, that is correct in that your GPA cut-off for applying to the French stream is lower than for the English stream. I'm not sure of the exact GPA cut-offs but if you ask the admissions office, they will tell you what your exact cut-off is. I think having a lower GPA cut-off means you have a better chance of being invited for an interview, assuming your extracurriculars are solid. Also, after the interview, having a higher GPA will improve your chances of being accepted. This past year, 416 people applied to the French stream and 48 people were accepted. I'm guessing more than 100 people were interviewed. So statistically, your chances of being accepted is around 11.5%, not taking into account your GPA, extracurriculars, and interview performance. I think you have a good shot at the French stream. Apply :)

Thanks you both for your replies. And I saw that the average gpa to get in last year was 3.9....is it the same for french applicants from Gatineau/Ottawa?