Premed 101 Forums

Applying To U Of A Pt Program With An Unrelated Degree

Hi all!

I'm hoping I can get some insights and experiences from anyone who's applied to a PT program (particularly U of A) coming from a completely different background with an unrelated degree.

I have a MSc in Audiology with 8 years of experience in rehabilitative hearing health care, but I’m looking for a career change and am interested in physiotherapy at U of A. I graduated in 2006, with a GPA of about 3.7 based on my last 60 credits (although this may be off depending on how the credit cutoff will work, as my program included practicums/coursework that didn’t issue grades or credits, just a pass/fail requirement).

I hopefully may be able to get credit for some of prerequisite courses based on equivalents I took in undergrad (BA in Psych) at U of C, such as English and Stats (although this was back in 1st year, where I did NOT know what I was doing and thus did not do so well…). I emailed U of A to find out if these courses are accepted equivalents.

I still need some anatomy & physiology classes as well as some volunteer experience (I have tons of experience working with a geriatric population in my clinical practice, but my current job doesn’t involve direct patient contact, so I haven’t worked with patients for about 5 years now).

U of A doesn't seem to specify the type of background they’re looking for in applicants, just that “Completion of a four-year baccalaureate degree or its academic equivalent in any field of study from an accredited post-secondary institution is required.” I will certainly need take some classes to meet the prerequisites (and boost my GPA, as I get the impression that any PT program is super-competitive), but given that my degree is from an unrelated field, do I even stand a chance?

Hi btc2014,