Premed 101 Forums

Advice for Non-Science Student

Guest smg

This site seems pretty with it, so I was hoping someone could help me with my somewhat less traditional situation.

I'm currently in my 4th year of an Honours social science program and am currently writing my hnrs. paper on the causes and policy responses to the physician shortage. I've recently decided that medicine would be a much better career than policy analysis. I'll finish my degree with about a 3.6 or 3.65 (which is in the top 10 ppl. of my rather intense program). I volunteer on campus with our emerg. response team and my dept'l student society. I also hold down 2 jobs. I'm currently taking my 2nd 1/2 year bio class and am enjoying it, but that's the extent of my university science courses. I'm tentatively planning on picking up a chem, org. chem, physics and a 1/2 biochem next year before writing my MCATs next spring (Apr 04).

I was wondering if anyone had any advice about courses, better prep for the MCAT or what med schools I should be gunning for. (Oh yeah, I'm an Alberta res going to school in Ont.) Are my marks too low? I only took the full 5 classes in my 2nd year and have done 4.5 in the other 3 (plus the summer courses to make up the credits). Does this mess me up for schools like UWO? Any help would be awesome! :D

Guest macdaddyeh

Hey SMG:

Welcome to the board! Concerning your situation, I am in your shoes as a soc. sci. student with a very similar GPA.

First, I don't think there is anything "non-traditional" about your background; it is an ever-increasing phenomena for socsci/arts students to apply AND for med schools to enroll them. I think well-roundedness is the key (ie. taken equal parts sciences, social sciences, humanities where possible).

That said, some people will question your decision to enter medicine with little science background and it may hinder your success on the MCAT. I too have yet to take chem or biochem.