Premed 101 Forums

Any Advice???

Guest JAMIRA

Guest JAMIRA

Hello :)

I've been visiting this forum for quite a while now (but haven't posted much) and I just have to say that it is amazing! And since it is frequented by such helpful and knowledgeable people, I was hoping some of you would be willing to offer some much needed advice.

Here goes...

I graduated from Mac last year with a B.Sc. in Bio-Psych. My marks weren't bad (3.6 cGPA) and I've done lots of volunteer/ec activities, but I really messed up - How???? Well, in my first 3 years of undergrad, I took nine courses during the year and one in the summer. So because I have only one "full-time" year (4th), I am really limited in terms of where I can apply. I have been rejected from Mac twice (it is by far my first choice) so now I am considering writing the MCAT and applying elsewhere. But, to really up my chances, I think I should go back to school and perhaps do a second degree. This way, I can kill two birds with one stone...bring up my GPA and get one or two more full-time years under my belt so I can apply everywhere. Is this a wise idea or do med schools not look favourably upon someone who has done a second degree?

Also, I know it is different for each school, but maybe people could fill me in on whatever school they know about - If I did start a second degree, is it is possible to consider my fourth year of my first degree and my first year of my second degree as two of the required full time years, or once I start a second degree do I have to start from scratch?

(sorry if that was confusing). :\

Any help or advice would be much appreciated. Thanks :D

Guest aneliz

Here is the scoop from the UWO perspective: