Premed 101 Forums

Do I Have A Chance At American Schools?

Hi Everyone, 

I am a non-traditional undergraduate student and I was wondering if I have a shot at any of the American Schools as a Canadian applicant. 

I studied engineering for two years and I did terribly during those years (My cGPA for my 2 years of engineering is 2.8). I then decided to pursue a four-year Biology degree at a different university and managed to improve my academics (My cGPA for my four years of biology is 4.0). According to my calculations my AMCAS GPA considering every single course I have ever taken would be close to 3.55. I also wrote the MCAT and my score is as follows (12PS/9V/12BS). 

Having said all that, I was wondering if any of the US schools would examine the upward trend in my GPA and considering my MCAT score grant me an interview as a Canadian applicant?

I appreciate all your comments and suggestions. 

Thank You!

Hi Everyone, 

I am a non-traditional undergraduate student and I was wondering if I have a shot at any of the American Schools as a Canadian applicant. 

I studied engineering for two years and I did terribly during those years (My cGPA for my 2 years of engineering is 2.8). I then decided to pursue a four-year Biology degree at a different university and managed to improve my academics (My cGPA for my four years of biology is 4.0). According to my calculations my AMCAS GPA considering every single course I have ever taken would be close to 3.55. I also wrote the MCAT and my score is as follows (12PS/9V/12BS). 

Having said all that, I was wondering if any of the US schools would examine the upward trend in my GPA and considering my MCAT score grant me an interview as a Canadian applicant?

I appreciate all your comments and suggestions. 

Thank You!

The strong upward trend of 4 years of 4.0, will trump the 2 poor years. Assuming as well you had full-course load those 4 years.