Premed 101 Forums

How hard to practice med in ont if schooled in diff. prov.

Guest Relf

We all know that it is next to impossible to practice medicine if we have been schooled outside of Canada (e.g. Australia, USA, carribean)....but how hard is it to practice if we are schooled in a different province, such as Manitoba, Alberta, or NFLD?.....anyone have any links to share?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

-Aran

I'm not an expert on this, but it is definitely not impossible to practice medicine in Canada if you went to med school in the states or another country. There are many docs at the U of A hospital from the US. I think if you do your residency in the states you may have to do an extra year of residency here if you want to come back, but I am not sure of the details. As for practicing in other provinces, it isn't a problem, you just have to get certified by the Royal College in that province. I think that requires a lot of paperwork and maybe writing a test (?), but it is not difficult, from what I understand.

Guest UWOMED2005

I recently ran into an Ontario Family Doc who did his MD at Dal in NS but his residency in Ont. He made the point to me that in fact it isn't always easy as pie to transfer residency programs to different programs. . . in particular, he claimed there was something about the structure of the Dal family medicine program (less two months of something?) that caused you to do some sort of extra certification to then practice in Ontario. I'm not sure if these claims are true, but I think it's definitely worth investigating if you're planning on switching provinces. How to investigate that, I haven't the foggiest. . . maybe contact the provincial licencing authorities directly. . .