Premed 101 Forums

Requirements

Guest Mystery

Guest Mystery

Is doing an honours degree really necessary for getting in? I've heard that if someone who took just a regular major had higher marks than someone doing an honours degree, the major would get in first. Also when doing a major, does a double major look better when you're trying to get accepted to med school?

Guest acropolistica

In my opinion, the worst reason to do anything is so it can go on your med school application/resume. Would you enjoy doing a double major or honours degree? I did an honours degree, and it let me know that research was definitely not a career I am interested in. It may give you that experience also, or it may give you the opposite. Do a double major only if you feel you would enjoy it. Good marks will come with a degree you enjoy pursuing. Like I said, signing up for something just to beef up your application isn't a good angle to take: you may end up regretting your decision and harming your application in the long run.

Do what you like to do: I can't emphasize this enough.

Guest seonagh
In my opinion, the worst reason to do anything is so it can go on your med school application/resume. Would you enjoy doing a double major or honours degree?

I would agree but with caution. UWO has recently introduced the requirement of an honours and the introduction of that requirement will occur such that it will affect new students entering university. It is also possible that other schools will lean this way.

While it would never be a good idea to do something you hate just for the application only to enhance your app sometimes you do need to do something you might not otherwise if it would see you disqualified from applying to a school you have your heart set on.

I would recommend contacting any schools you are seriously interested in and checking out their requirements and going from their in a way that maximizes your interests and keeps your options open.

Seonagh

Guest Mystery