Premed 101 Forums

Reapplying To Im

englers

I'm a McGill student that applied to IM this year but finally went unmatched. Have no possibility of doing the residency elsewhere (family issues) so 2nd round is out of the option.

Debating between reapplying next year while doing research vs. going to FM and try to transfer, with the former being my prefered avenue.

Has anyone done that, or know anyone that has?

Would appreciate some input if possible.

Thanks in advance

Its a tough call

IM is generally not a competitive speciality. But if you are geographically restricted to one city it becomes incredibly difficult given the number of spots available. Doing research helps, but I think more fruitful endeavor is continue to do electives in IM and work with big names at McGill or UDEM who can vouch for you come carms selection time. There is always a risk when sitting out a year and re-applying (not as much if you plan to apply broadly and will be happy with IM anywhere, but very risky since you are only willing to work in Montreal).

Transfer is also a risky route. Im not familiar with year of funding issue but hearing stories of people who had successfully done it, its usually the FRCPC specialties to family since its 5 year of funding transferred to 2 year (not vice versa). Your best bet is contacting the mcgills undergrad office, they probably have the most up to date knowledge to help you out.

If geographical location is absolutely crucial to you, I see that McGill's gatineau site has some spots left. I know FM is not internal medicine but as a family doc you can still do hospitalist work. But if you have your heart set on a speciality like Cards or gastro that would obviously be out of the question.