Premed 101 Forums

Help Please

Hi everyone,

I am an international medical student and I have an elective in General Internal Medicine Consult Service at McGill coming up in October.

I would like your advice on how to best prepare for this elective.

I think it is going to be hard to study everything in internal medicine (and then actually remember it lol), so I am trying to choose which topics to focus on.

Also do you recommend any specific resources to study from?

In general any advice on how to do good in this elective would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Hey congrats on getting the elective!

The best way to study is to focus on your patients' diagnostics during the elective. Before the elective, try to read up on major IM topics like NSTEMI, anemia, chest pain, etc.. and work hard during your elective and always be enthusiastic! Good luck

Hi everyone,

I am an international medical student and I have an elective in General Internal Medicine Consult Service at McGill coming up in October.

I think it is going to be hard to study everything in internal medicine (and then actually remember it lol), so I am trying to choose which topics to focus on.

In general any advice on how to do good in this elective would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Since it's an elective in GIM consultations (assuming NON-medicine aka Surgical/OB patients on the wards) I would focus on the following:

Perioperative medicine/pre-op assessments, Obstetrical medicine, Hypertension, DM2 management, Delirium, Anemia, A-fib, transaminitis, AKI's, electrolyte disturbances (hyponatremia).

Then try to cover anything else within Medicine, but I think for a consultation service that should be good coverage when starting off.

Hi everyone,

Thanks.

Since it's an elective in GIM consultations (assuming NON-medicine aka Surgical/OB patients on the wards) I would focus on the following: