Premed 101 Forums

Ottawa U Biomed Vs. Health Sciences

Hi,

I am a grade 12 student aspiring to become a doctor. I have been accepted at Ottawa U's undergrad programs for months now but cannot decide on which program I should choose. I am equally interested in both programs. I am interested in hearing what someone in my position would choose and why? Thanks in advance!

I have been asked this question many times! Honestly both program are good, but it depends on you interests and what will motivate you to get the best grades possible as well to have time build your resume.

Why Health Sciences?

Health sciences was the degree I did in Ottawa (so, I'm a bit biased). Honestly, I chose it because I did not want to spend my 4 years in a lab and spending most of my time studying pure sciences. I also did not want to do physics and maths, which this program does not require (but be careful with that if you plan to apply in medical schools other than Ottawa). I like the balance between the science and the social part of health. That being said, this means that you will also have a nice mixture of projects, essays and exams to do (I did not like projects, so this would be a negative point for me). I also felt that I had lots of time to do do volunteer/sports/research. At times, it does get very busy, but you can plan out your semester in advance to make sure you know when to study and when you can do more volunteering. You also have enough of flexibility in your course sequence to take the prerequisites for medical school. 

Why Biomed?