Premed 101 Forums

International dentist-to-be with DDS, allowed to work in the US?

Hi, 

I'm a high school student applying for university. I am a US citizen and plan to work in the US as a dentist. My question is that if I earn a Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS) not a Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS) outside of the US and Canada will I have to attend university for an internationally trained dentist program afterwards, or can I just do the license exam NBDE and immediately work as a dentist in the US? 

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you so much for replying!

That is what I heard, you can't work with a degree outside of America and Canada, but the reason is because most universities internationally give a BDS (Bachelors of Dental Surgery) which is not sufficient to work with in America and Canada. However there are a few universities outside of US and Canada that do give a DDS degree, and it seems to be a weird concept to graduate with a DDS degree internationally and then study a few more extra years in US//Canada to receive the same DDS degree you already had.

If anyone has been in this position, or knows anything about circumstances like this please do reply, Any help would be appreciated.

It has nothing to do with the degree type.  It has to do with the ability of the dental education regulators to perform accreditation of the schools.  

Just because a school offers a DDS does not mean that it is teaching the correct depth and breadth of knowledge to be equivalent to US or Canadian schools. 

My parents graduated from overseas, so I know the process. If you were planning to work in the US and want to attend a dental school outside of North America you will have 2 options: