Premed 101 Forums

IM residency in the U.S. and then return to Canada?

Hi all,

I am a Canadian student currently at a U.S. med school with an interest in primary care. I have read about how General Internal Medicine in Canada is 4 years long, but I have also come across people saying that it is increasing to 5 years long. Can someone explain this to me? Is there a transition happening to 5 year programs now?

Also, if I ended up doing a 3 year IM residency in the U.S. (say, on a J1 visa, which would force me back to Canada after residency), and I had to come back to Canada to live and work, how would this process work? Would I have to do extra year(s) of training somehow? Would I have to do 1 extra year or 2 extra years? (Considering the 4 year and 5 year GIM stuff)

Any clarification on these topics would be much appreciated! Thanks for the help.

• 2 months later...

Did this route but did GI and hep fellowship so 6 years plus motility and getting certified in advance procedures. 

You have to do the Canadian Boards if you only have 4 years (3 years IM + 1 year chief or ID, Sleep, geriatric). 

My recommendation is to do 5 years of IM, do the boards in US and Canada, way much easier to find jobs, get licensed and start your own clinic

• 1 month later...
On 5/11/2019 at 6:09 PM, blueskyguy said:

Hi all,

I am a Canadian student currently at a U.S. med school with an interest in primary care. I have read about how General Internal Medicine in Canada is 4 years long, but I have also come across people saying that it is increasing to 5 years long. Can someone explain this to me? Is there a transition happening to 5 year programs now?