Premed 101 Forums

Chances of Getting into Med School??

Zoeymed

I graduated from UofT with a cumulative GPA of 3.57 (undergrad), i felt that my GPA was too low for med school so I looked for other career options, now I have graduated and I am practising as a dental hygienist!

But i don't enjoy my profession, I go to work everyday with a what if I tried for Med School question on my mind?

Now I really want to know of what my chances are? During undergrad, I didn't work or volunteer!!!

The only experiences I had was working at a call centre, volunteering in ER department and NOW working as a dental hygienist!

I want some feedback on my chanced for MedSchool; and whether I should start studying and preparing for my MCAT???

Help anyone

Your profile is not competitive. GPA is King and those with much higher, competitive GPAs are routinely rejected. Then, Med schools are long king for active citizens in the community,vthose who contribute to society while doing well academically. Therefore, on a preliminary glance, in my honest opinion, your chances are extremely slim to none.  As you don’t have the basic qualifications at this time, I don’t suggest you start preparing for the MCAT.

You would need a second undergrad ain’t a competitive GPA combined with ECs & volunteering that demonstrate CanMEDS competencies.to be able to have a decent shot at it. 

3 hours ago, Bambi said:

Your profile is not competitive. GPA is King and those with much higher, competitive GPAs are routinely rejected. Then, Med schools are long king for active citizens in the community,vthose who contribute to society while doing well academically. Therefore, on a preliminary glance, in my honest opinion, your chances are extremely slim to none.  As you don’t have the basic qualifications at this time, I don’t suggest you start preparing for the MCAT.