Premed 101 Forums

Med School after Pharma

Hey everyone, hope you guys are doing well.

I am an international pharmacy graduate and currently registered as a Pharmacist in Canada. Now am planning to switch to med school in Ontario specifically. I have an issue actually, my grades are in the form of percentage as per my home country and is there any way to convert percentage into GPA

My stats are:

Graduation: 70%

MCAT: 518

Volunteered in sick kids hospital in every summer break from last 2 years and still working as a Pharmacist in Rexall

I am curious to ask for your suggestions about my chances of getting into a med school specifically Mcmaster, Queens and western. 

Thankyou

Have a great day 

1 minute ago, JOLLY said:

Thanks for the reply @hero147

But, as per Canadian Grade Equivalency if i convert my percentage to GPA it comes out to be 3.6 for Asian Countries. 
So is there any issue ?

please reply

thanks

You can try the States with that GPA. But with a 3.6, your chances are slim to get into a Canadian school. Depending on your breakdown, you may stand a good chance at universities that take your best 2 years (like Western) or last 2 years (like Queens). But admittedly, there are very few people that get into medical school with that kind of GPA. Maybe like 2-3 a year to places like McMaster and University of Toronto.

Must also admit, I haven't looked at admission criteria for schools in almost 6 years when I applied. The information I provide may be outdated.

Something to take into account is, that most Canadian and US medical schools will not even consider your Foreign(you mention Asian) university grades. 

You will very likely need to do at least 2 years of full-time undergraduate studies here in Canada to get North American grades.