Premed 101 Forums

It's taking me forever to write Western's ABS. Desperately need advice.

(for context, I'm talking about how the ABS asks you to concretely outline 3 things you have learned and how the experience will be helpful to your career in medicine)

I was reading some other threads here and many people said that they completed their entire ABS for Western in a few hours. I spent a few hours on ONE entry yesterday and it's incomplete. I'm having  a ton of trouble relating things I learned to how they can help me in my career in medicine.

I think my view of what "career in medicine" means is too narrow, I can only think of how a doctor interacts with patients or their colleagues. Am I overlooking something?

Also, should I focus on explaining the lesson learned or the connection to medicine?

Don't stress about it. Like I said in the thread it took me a few days and im a fast writer, it took some of my friends a few weeks to finish the ABS. Its not a bad thing if its taking you some time to think things through.

to get things rolling a bit ... physicians interact with and lead multi disciplinary teams, act as mentors and teachers for patients and their families, interact with canadians from every background, work long hours under high stress situations, have to resolve conflicts with patients or coworkers, have to communicate sensitive information to patients, have to act professionally at all times as leaders in their communities, collaborate with other physicians or allied staff, etc etc

34 minutes ago, ysera said:

Don't stress about it. Like I said in the thread it took me a few days and im a fast writer, it took some of my friends a few weeks to finish the ABS. Its not a bad thing if its taking you some time to think things through.