Premed 101 Forums

UofA Dent Admissions Question

Got a question which isn't being explicitly answered by the UofA admissions office - I just want to ensure the wording is correct, as its a critical point for me.

Quoting directly from the admissions website

For applicants who have completed four or more years of full-time transferable postsecondary work, the cumulative (overall) GPA is calculated with the deletion of the lowest Fall/Winter GPA, provided it is not the most recent Fall/Winter or the only Fall/Winter where *30 was taken.

I bolded the section I want to clarify.

Essentially this states that they will count the most recent fall/winter as long as its not the lowest GPA among all full time years? I finished my bachelors and am planning to take a 5th year starting September, with a full course load - to boost my GPA. I will also apply to UofA dent in November. Will my GPA for this upcoming year (Fall 2020 and Winter 2021) be counted towards my grades for UofA admissions?

Your GPA up until completion of your fall semester next year will be used for interview decision, once you've completed the interview, your final GPA calculation will include the following winter semester (the semester you get your interview in). 

Thanks for the clarification. I'm curious as to the deletion of the worst year work? Will they remove the worst *30 (full courseload) year if the GPA for my upcoming fall semester is good? Or is the worst year removed when the final GPA is calculated. My worst year was second year undergrad - removal of that improves my GPA substantially.

I'm a little confused at what your asking, but if your second year is your worst, then it will not be used for calculations as long as its not your only 30* year. they must take into account your GPA for most recent year, i.e upcoming fall/winter for you since you plan to apply for upcoming cycle.