Premed 101 Forums

GPA and Special Student

Guest Talon01

Guest Talon01

Hello All!

When Western calculates your GPA do they use only your final year when offering admissions? I'm currently IN my 4th year right now and my GPA for my third year was 3.57 (on the button I think) and this year it's a bit higher. When I apply to Western next year will they only look @ my 4th year marks? I know the cutoff has to be 2 years above 3.65, so if they use my 3rd year marks and 4 year marks to grant me an interview I won't get one because I would have had only 1 year above the cutoff. I DO plan on taking another year next year of just random undergrad courses. Will Western look down upon this decision? Will Westernuse my 4th year marks to decide to grant me a decision and then use my 4th year and 'special' year to see if I'm above their 3.65 cutoff?

I hope this question makes sense.

Thanks in advance.

~Scotty

Guest PhantomPhoenix

It's less stressful if u have both years meeting the cut-off before u reach that last year...

That way u can slack that last year....:rollin

Guest TimmyMax

Hi Talon,

In order to get an interview, you'll need one full-time year above the posted GPA cutoff (and be above the MCAT cutoffs as well). If it is your 4th year, then so be it. Your offer of admission will be conditional in the sense that you will have to achieve greater than the GPA cutoff (same as that for your 4th year) in your 5th or "special" year (also must be full-time). You'll have to send in a transcript to confirm that you are indeed above the cutoff, but once you do that, you'll be money! :)

Best of luck!

Timmy

Nothin' wrong with a victory lap year... I learned some awfully cool things in my victory lap year... how to breed hybrid barley... how bees have sex... how opium and tea changed world history... Well, and some useful stuff too. I took an absolutely amazing course in communications, and it has proved useful time and again.