Premed 101 Forums

What are my chances at getting into medical school?

Hi everyone,

I am looking for your real and honest advice here. I am in my fourth year of a b.sc undergad at mcmaster and will be graduating in the spring. I did not apply to med this past cycle because I had no confidence in my application and thought that perhaps doing a masters would be a better alternative in the meantime. While I have been offered acceptance to these programs the thought of letting med go without every trying makes me sick. I want to go to medical school so badly but I am so afraid that it will never happen for me and scared to face that reality. Here are my stats please tell me your thoughts:

Year 1 3.3888 (took 9 courses)

Year 2 3.73 (took 10 courses)

Year 3 3.78 (took 11 courses but 1 is p/f so only 10 in gpa calculation) 

- fall gpa 3.6, winter gpa 3.96 (not counted at some schools)

Year 4 3.96 (took 10 courses) 

I calculate my cgpa to be 3.723. 

My best two years without winter 2020 would be year 2 and 4 = 3.845 (Western)

My most recent two years without winter 2020 would be = 3.84 (Queens)

- not that this matters now but had I not taken ochem as an elective in the fall of my third year my fall gpa would have been a 3.925 (3.925+3.96/2 = 3.945 best two year without winter 2020 - so this sucks) 

I would have to write an academic explanations essay to get uoft wgpa since I took only 9 courses in my first year but otherwise it would have been = 3.747 

I have done the calculations for a couple of other schools but I don't want to make this post messier than it is. If you think there is a school I could potentially have a chance at then I will definitely add that number in. 

I am willing to go to literally any school in Canada, will do US MD. If neither of those I have been thinking about DO, Carib, Ireland and Australia. What are your thoughts on that?