Premed 101 Forums

Extreme Extenuating Circumstances

Hi everyone,

Wondering if anyone applied with unusually extreme extenuating circumstances and was granted an alternative evaluation of their application? And/or was able to transfer?

I'm currently in my 4th year and doing psychology & behavioural sciences at a Canadian university I'd like to not disclose and I'm an international student and I'm still halfway through my degree.

In a nutshell:

I completed high school in 2017 in Toronto. Following graduation, I applied to Canadian universities but I also took the university placement test in my home country. I got into medicine - we can directly get in from high school but have to study for 6 years. However, my dad is a judge under fascist government backhomeand he's affiliated with politics; my parents really wanted to keep me out of the country when necessary so I accepted both offers. I deferred my Canadian admission to 2018 fall and in the meantime, I did my 1st year in medicine there. My first year gpa was 3.9 and I was very involved in extracurriculars. In 2018 a week prior to fall semester, I experienced sexual assault which was politically motivated and followed by all sorts of corruptions which created 10 more cases for crimes committed by judges. Though I recovered from the trauma fairly quickly, complications, constant legal correspondences as well as media involvement etc. led to a significant tension on my end. Shortly after, both my parents were targeted. My mom, who is a psychiatrist, went through many unjust investigations by purely fabricated motives. My dad is still going through the trial for made up crimes he's never committed in the first place.