Premed 101 Forums

Impact of taking parental leave on matching to competitive internal medicine subspecialty?

I am an internal medicine resident in Canada. For context, I am a guy. I was considering taking a month off around the time of delivery. I will end up being off-cycle by 1 block. What is the impact of this on my ability to match to a competitive subspec. How is parental leave typically viewed, is it frowned upon? Thanks.

• 3 weeks later...

Agree, you should be able to take time off. As long as it doesn't affect your evals, letters, ability to interview etc I don't think it should be an issue.

Any program that vilifies you for a 1 month absence to care for a newborn is not one you want to be at. A month sounds like barely any pat leave to be honest...consider taking more. That being said, I've been through the MSM match twice (once for IM subspec, once for critical care)...most people kept it quiet until asked about it/matched. Just part of the workaholic culture and playing it safe.

Sorry you're having to navigate this. For what it's worth, I know people in competitive subspecs (cardio, ICU, GI) who took parental leave and were relatively open about it.

• 2 weeks later...