Premed 101 Forums

Forced to repeat a year - still have potential to match to competitive specialty? (Quebec + rest of Canada)

Hey everyone,

I'm a med student from Quebec who started their 2nd year (med 1) of a 5 year program this fall. Unfortunately, I had mental health difficulties and was hospitalized for 1.5 months. Once I got out, I was told that I had missed too much class and that I would have to repeat the year. On my transcript, it will show that I withdrew from all my courses of the first semester of med 1 (in French - notation "abandon").

Does anyone know how this is looked at by adcoms for CaRMS? I have received conflicting advice from various people. My psychiatrist told me that she anecdotally knew someone who repeated a year for academic reasons (not sure if this is better or worse than repeating for health reasons, can anyone chime in?) who still matched to their first choice psych program, but I also met with the vice dean of my school, who told me that I will likely be automatically disqualified from competitive residencies because of this blemish on my record.

Even though I am still just starting my medical school journey, my interests lie mainly in competitive specialties (data from 2023 match, quebec universities only) - derm (0.83 spots per applicant), psych (0.59 spots per applicant) and rad onc (0.27 spots per applicant). However, since I have a black mark on my record, does it still make sense to pursue these specialties, or should I already settle for path/FM and not waste my time.

For reference, I have already secured a position in a lab for the rest of this year that should get me a few publications in epidemiology, but I'm not even sure if I should pursue this opportunity if it won't mean anything in the end because of my subpar transcript. Also, does anyone know if my situation will be seen more or less favourably in the rest of Canada compared to Quebec?