Premed 101 Forums

CARMS APP - ECs

Hello!

I am planning on applying for CARMS 2026 Match. I am looking to get an advice on how important are Extracurricular and Research activities are for the match. 

Mine are as follow:

- 1st year representative for two different societies.

-I have tutoring young children for two years. I volunteered as an admin, reading/writing volunteer.

-I was a leader for a statistic group.

-Worked in a lab during COVID-19 for 8 months.  

-Currently I am volunteering as a supervisor for a non profit organization that provide pre-crisis resources to those with mental health issues. I also worked there as emotional support volunteer.

- I am also working on a health inequality project (hoping to get published and have poster presentation) and social prescribing project (will be getting published for sure. I am involve in applying for funding, writing up the project, analysis etc). 

- I am also a writer where I write on conditions presented in dermatology. 

-I was also a scholar mentor for a year working with young children who are interested in higher education. 

I no longer hold a position into any societies at my school beside being a member. Are my ECs and Research Activities enough ? Any suggestion is welcome. 

I am interested in Family Med, Psychiatry and Dermatology (I haven’t really decided it yet).