Premed 101 Forums

48 Sketch

Guest Scholastica

Guest Scholastica

Hello UofO students & moderators:

I'm a fourth-year student who's applying to med schools for the first time. :) I'm not sure how this forum works... I posted a similar message in the UofT section, but I thought I would post it again here to receive some advice from the Ottawa students. :)

Med schools seem to use the 48 sketch to judge the variety and breath of extracurricular activities. I won many math contests in my high school, and I listed about 5 of them in the 48 sketch... but now I'm wondering if I should take out some of them to add other non-academic stuff into my 48 sketch.

I am also wondering if it's a good idea to include nominations to student awards even if I actually did not receive them?

Even if I joined a club just for a year, is it better to include a club membership instead of a big math award I got? I'm not sure which is better... But, if I spent less than 5 hours for a club, is it really worth mentioning?

Throughout the year, I helped out in a lot of events even if I wasn't necessarily part of a club or anything... If anyone asked for help, then I lended my hand. For example, I helped promote an AIDS seminar, an academic gala, etc?

If I have called and visited a senior for a few years, do you think it's worth mentioning it in my 48 sketch?

Someone told me something that makes you stand out should be included. I personally like watching figure skating (although I can't skate well. :) ) and I once made a forum like this for Russian pairs skaters' fans... But this is a professional application form. Should I include this interest in my 48 sketch or not?

Thank you... any clarifications would be appreciated. :0)

Guest doctorinthehouse

I'll try and give my insight into these questions, but I'm sure others have differing opinions, and there certainly isn't one way that will only work.