Premed 101 Forums

Active Duty Military, need guidance/advice on med school requirements

I’m currently active duty enlisted in the Marine Corps (rah) and seeking advice on the right path to eventually apply and get into med school. For some SA, I studied a lot of health and medicine in high school in hopes that I would one day work in the medical field because I grew up with both parents working at a hospital (Mom is a DPT and Dad was a CNA, now a Telemetry tech) and have always loved the concept of helping and extending love to others through medicine. That and half my cousins are either doctors or nurses (Filipino tingz haha). I enlisted straight out of high school and thought that I should and could get away from medicine doing communications and electronics (MOS is 2831, Satcomm Technician). Boy, was I wrong; I quickly realized that that field wasn't for me. After 4 years of procrastinating on what I want to do with my life, I decided I want to pursue a career in medicine. At this time, I'm currently in the midst of the re-enlistment process to do \~3 more years of service in recruiting. I'm hoping to recruit out of Chicago as that's where home is for me, and the Chi suburbs is where I want to settle down later in life.

Right now I'm taking classes at University of Maryland Global Campus pursuing a BS in Biotechnology. I transferred my JST over to them and they accounted for 33 credits. I also talked to some advisors, and they are all advocating to take some Sophia.org courses to catch up and knock out gen-eds. I made a list and whittled out 15 credits of gen-eds. None of them are really med school prereqs from what I've searched. Two English Compositions, one public speaking, one philosophy, and one statistics. I made a plan on how I'm gonna split up these classes if I'm gonna continue on to graduate from UMGC.