Premed 101 Forums

applying at age 36: anyone else done it? am I competitive?

Guest drcave

I was always someone who did well in school but never really planned in a path in life, although I did consider medicine and even wrote the MCAT 10 years ago but never applied. Instead I did a MSc in Biology, got married, worked for the government for a couple of years in a forestry research lab as a technician and then quit and started my own ecotourism business.

Although I love ecotourism, I just can't make enough money to support the family my wife and I want to start, so it's time to fall back on plan B, medicine. I have two questions for those in the know out there:

1) Is there anyone out there who is going through medschool at the same time as starting a family? Do you think it is manageable or do you feel like you are cheating your kids of valuable time with their parent, and how much time are you able to devote to your family in a week?

2) As an older applicant am I still competitive for those precious spots? I know my recent volunteer experience needs some beefing up and that I'll have to retake the MCAT. About me:

BSc Biology 1995 with 85% overall average

MSc Biology 2001 A's and A-'s in coursework

1996 MCAT scores Verbal 12, Biological 13, Physical 14, Writing O

Volunteer experience:

1995: Therapeutic Riding volunteer, KW hospital volunteer

1996: Youth Challenge International (3 months in Costa Rica)

2004-2006 Director, Canadian Cave Conservancy

Director Vancouver Island North Visitors Association

Passion in Life: Cave exploration and mapping

I really appreciate any feedback.

Edit, Oh yeah UBC or Calgary would be my top choices since they are closest to caving areas and I can't live without caving.

Guest kayak22

Hey ther drcave,