Premed 101 Forums

Would appreciate your opinion ...

Guest zipzappy

Guest zipzappy

Hello Folks,

I would appreciate your opinion on the following situation:

I have a degree in business and have currently been working in business for the past 2 years. I now would like to change careers to Medicine. I have applied to McMaster the past 2 years and have been rejected flat out without an interview both times. I realize that this could be because of my GPA which is a humble 3.56. I feel like it’s time to broaden my horizons and apply to other schools as well (Canadian and US). This would require me to go back to school for 2-3 years to take a full course load each semester, boost my grades and write the MCAT. I understand that some schools require me to be studying towards a certain degree, which means that I would need to declare a major. I would like a health-related degree that would prove a suitable backup and also good learning considering that it may take me multiple tries to get into Meds. I am thinking Nursing … I find the field interesting and feel like it will be good learning prior to Medicine. Any thoughts on this? My concern is that this move from Business to BScN to Meds might appear rather ‘odd’ to the Med Com, but I understand that it is about communicating rationale at each step clearly.

Any viewpoints would be appreciated.

Thanks….

- Zp

Guest siobhansiobhan

Hi Zippy -

Seems the right direction - nursing to med, and business background is not entirely incompatible - many docs end up in hospital admin, or need to figure out the books for practices....