Premed 101 Forums

ten year rule

Guest transplant

Guest transplant

Does anyone know if there are students who have been accepted who used the 'ten year rule'? I am a mature student and have good marks over the past ten years but not good (enough) marks in earlier years. I am wondering if invoking the 'ten year rule' reduces my chances of admission.

Guest me maniac

transplant,

I used the 10 year rule. No, it does not limit your chances. The only problem you may have is that if any of the courses from > 10 years ago were prerequisites for courses done say, in the past few years, you can't use the recently completed courses either. At least that is my understanding. It was not an issue for me as I repeated all the subjects anyways, but it may be for you.

me

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there transplant,

I requested the 10 year rule to be applied to my application last year and it didn't seem to hurt it, since I was accepted. :) If you do wish to invoke the rule then you must make sure that the coursework you have completed in the past 10 years includes courses that fit all of UBC's pre-requisites. If you're short even one half credit then the 10-year rule cannot and will not be applied. Now, for example, if you took first year biology more than ten years ago, (as I did), as long as you have a higher-level biology course for which the first year biology is a prerequisite, then you can use the higher-level course in your group of prerequisite courses.

Although the rule seems to be applied without prejudice, the admissions folks can still see your entire academic history. Therefore, although those marks are not counted when it comes to calculating your academic ranking, they do count when it comes down to the wire when they're checking your whole package out to decide whether or not you receive a nice, big acceptance.

Cheers and good luck,

Kirsteen

Guest mandm

Hi Kirsteen: