Premed 101 Forums

Good Shoes for clerkships

Guest Hamartoma

Guest Kirsteen

Hi,

For what purpose do you need the shoes? For the wards, within the OR, or for another place or occasion? If it's for the wards then Merrell make a good number of comfortable, hardy yet lightweight shoes. Likewise, they have a couple of comfy, durable clog-style shoes that are suitable for the OR.

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Guest 24medgirl

I currently work in a hospital as a health professional. I wear pretty dressy clothes to work - suits, skirts, jackets etc. At first I had a hard time finding cute comfortable shoes, but for the last two years I've been buying Hush Puppy heals/pumps. They're pretty nice looking (basic black modern pump), good support, a little pricey, but in my opinion worth it. I'm going to buy a new pair for doing electives.

www.hushpuppies.ca/

Hope that helps. If you're a boy I'm sure it will be dreadfully unhelpful! :rollin However Hush Puppies also has boy's shoes!

T.

Guest summervirus

One of the most comfortable pair of shoes I've been wearing for the past few years is a pair of Rockports. I've also recently bought some Merrell clogs and they're great too. When I'm on call or in the ER, I like wearing Crocs.

Guest rubberoduck

i once saw an infomercial about this shoe company which has a branch i think in north york. the shoes are custom made, it's a bit pricey ($99 up) but it's supposed to fit your sole perfectly so that it's extremely comfortable, and can eliminate poor posture.

Guest studentz

Guy/Girl??

If male, I really like the Clark's Wallabees, which are super confortable in suede and last forever.

I also have a pair of Hushpuppy dress-casuals that I wear to the hospital for work/ASCM and they're very comfortable too.

Guest Ian Wong