Premed 101 Forums

Too ambitious? At 21, returning to high school courses, and eventually medicine?

Hi everyone,

I'm 21-years-old living near Vancouver (one of the surrounding cities). I work as a transcriptionist at a local hospital and I've been there for almost 8 months. I received my MT certificate by doing at home study via an online company. It was very difficulty as I had no help from the instructors, the dictations were a nightmare, and the marking system was a little bit weird. I completed it though with a mark in the high 90s and was soon hired up by this hospital. I moved 300 miles away from my parents to start work down here.

Now though, almost 8 months later I have come to the realization that I have had a long dream for many years on what I want to do with my life and that has always been becoming a doctor. Growing up, I wanted this but for certain reasons I repressed it and focused on just getting through the day.

My question though is am I being too ambitious given the amount of obstacles I have to overcome to even apply.

My hurdles are:

1. My high school courses need to be upgraded. The school I went to placed me in classes that they claimed would get me into University and I did not find out until after I graduated that they don't. These include Science and Technology and Math 11a. I also have to upgrade my English as I was 3 marks away from passing the provincial exam.

2. I'm 21-years-old, is that too old to start the process?

3. Being able to afford it. I would like to work at my current job until I can do so from home (about another year to year and a half) and have more time for schooling. Is this wise?

Would you say that I should go for and start the ball rolling, or that I have missed the boat and should focus on something else?

Any/all comments are welcome.

I know I want this, it's something that is pulling at me and has been for some time now, I just need to know if it is feasible given my situation.

Thank you. :)