Premed 101 Forums

Discouraged...clarifying

Hi everyone!

I'm currently in my third year of nursing and have discovered that it is not quite what I am after in the field of health care. Medicine has always been another thought and I am keen on applying and removing myself from a program where I'm not content.

Seeing as how I do not have any of the pre-requisite courses (our elective options in nursing are few), Mac and NOSM are the only schools that I could apply to at the moment. I'd like to increase my chances of admission so I suppose I'll have to do another year to get in the pre-reqs and compelte the MCAT.

I just realized, however, that I have never had a single year of 'full-time' study while in the nursing program. As an example, many of our courses are half-credits and even combined with the full-credit courses do not make up what qualifies as 'full-time' study. This is primarily because our clinical courses are pass/fail, we do not receive a grade and I can only assume that these are not counted in the application for med school. This is very discouraging. Is there even a point to trying? Or will I have to do another two years of actual full-time study after my nursing degree is completed?

Thanks for your advice in advance!

It really depends on which specific school you are applying to because they each have different admissions criteria. With regards to Mac and NOSM, once you have completed your bachelor's degree, you automatically qualify. These schools don't care if you finished your degree in full-time or part-time study. So you would definitely be eligible for those schools. Many other schools, however, do require you to have full-time years (Ottawa and Western are examples), so part-time years wouldn't count. You should check with the admissions office at each specific school that you're interested in applying to and find out directly from them what is required for admission.