Premed 101 Forums

U of T admissions - UPDATE

Hey folks,

got my DAT scores......BLEH!

I knew I wouldnt too well, didnt start studying until late september with minimum commitment.

Anyhow got,

Bio - 20

Chem - 20

PAT - 15

RC - 16

AA - 19

Carving - let's not even go there ...this was so low it's embarassing.

GPA: Avg. according to U of T scale OMSAS scale --> 3.72 (3 best years).

As a reminder, I am a graduate applicant who also provides a reference letter along with my admissions package.

I see my chances for all other schools already dwindled (UBC), and dwindling (UWO). The only school I think I have an honest shot at is U of T. This is subject to change too though based on all the incredibly, well-deserved high scores by other posters.

Any comments? Much appreciated.

Happy Holidays

Hey Mkmkhan,

Well I think you are probably correct. By reading the other posts Western really values the reading comprehension score. So I think an interview will be doubtful. U of T is hard to say. The website says that you needed a 3.7 for an interview last year. It may go up this year considering an increase in the number of applicants. I would strongly advise that you consider writing the test over. Good luck!

• 2 weeks later...

Just wanted to add a comment. If you have completed a graduate degree ur chances may be better than you think. Especially at UofT because now they are starting to lean more in favor of graduate applicants since in the many previous years there haven't been many grad applicants, and as UFT they like people with research experience. So yah, I'd say you have a decent chance.

i think about 3 grads got in last year...

BTW, how's your research track anyways? (i.e. publications, presentations etc...)

Cheers, :)