Premed 101 Forums

Baby/Meds Timing Issues

Hi everyone,

I know this question has been posted before, but I feel my situation is a bit different and was hoping people wouldn't mind offering some advice. I'll try to make a long story short.

I have a Bachelor's degree that took me ten years to complete. The GPA isn't so hot (3.0). I then moved to London, ON, where my husband was relocated for work. I decided to give my longstanding dream of becoming a doctor a go, and hoped to get in to UWO since we have permanently settled in London. In order to be eligible to apply to Western, I took another undergraduate degree (full time). I made the GPA cut-offs but my MCAT scores did not. I plan on re-taking the MCAT and reapplying. I also applied to other non-MCAT requiring schools and did not get in either.

My question really relates to age and timing issues regarding when the best time would be for me to have a baby. As I am almost 31, I am thinking of starting a family. Yet I really don't want to give up on this dream of medicine, especially since for the first time in my life, I am actually in a position to get in (hopefully). Yet, unlike the 25-year-old who has the freedom to apply repeatedly without worrying too much about baby timing issues, I feel that for me, I either need to have a baby now and then try for medical school in a few years' time, or, keep plugging away at meds and then have a baby during med school or after.