Premed 101 Forums

Rumour Time - getting kicked out of med school?

• 1 month later...

I've very interested in hearing more about this. I wish students would educate each other on this type of stuff. I have heard about students getting kicked out of medical school for various reasons, one of them for insulting professors, and "professionalism". "Professional conduct" is very hard to define and I think it'll be important to know about this before hand. I have heard of a person getting framed for sexual harassment and others.

We should all know about this before we get into medical school.

Someone got kicked out of my class at the end of 2nd year. He had already been held back at least one year and had a number of professionalism knocks against him as well as consistently poor marks.

I know of a MD/PhD, I was a summer student at the time, after second year of my BSc, who (the medstudent) was pretty weird to say the least. During that summer, I got to my lab one morning, I see that the lab nextdoor, where the dude was doing research (at really odd hours), had a forced door, missing computers, blood around...havoc I tell you.

Anyhow, no real proof of a culprit...

The same dude, a year or two after published without consent of his supervisor, he got the boot...so I heard.

The story I know, I know of a few drop outs though...

noncestvrai

as for the "professionalism" question - since it is vague, more schools are adopting a "code of professional conduct" that defines it, and explicitly outlaws certain behaviours.

(Probably because past students who were dismissed contended that professionalism was subjective)

If you're concerned about getting kicked out of med school, i'd bring it up with a student advisor or a professional. Confidentiality is assured (usually) and you can get some advice.

ok....this is quite some time ago, but here's a story: