Premed 101 Forums

What path go take? Medicine, optometry, pharmacy...?

I have a question : I received an interview for med only in Montreal. I have also interview for optometry, dentistry and pharm. Should I get into one of these three if I don't get in med and apply next year or finish my bachelor degree (im a 3rd year student)?

how can anyone on this board possibly answer this question for you? We don't know anything about you except for the two lines you posted above and this is such a big decision. Although all of them are healthcare related, they are such different careers that I find myself questioning how devoted you must be to each of them and why you applied to all of them if med is what you really want to do.

med school is tough and demands a lot out of you. if it isn't something you truly want to do (are you ready for long nights on call, endless work days, days where you don't even have time to pee or eat?), then you will be miserable. If it is what you want to do, then why even ask a board of strangers if you should bother with the other three options. If you don't get in next year, big deal. There are people here who've been trying for years (some of then are non trads who are trying to get in in their 30-40s). The point is that if you really want to be a doctor, it shouldn't matter what it takes or how long it takes, especially when you are still not even done your undergrad. Most people aren't accepted until after their undergrad.

I realize how harsh I sounded in my above post. What I meant to express is that there is no guarantee that you will get into med school. If you see yourself being happy with one of the other three career paths you mentioned, then go for it. If you only see yourself being happy with med, then stick with your it. What you want to avoid is picking a career path and then looking back ten years from now having regrets about not doing what you truly wanted to do (med, for example)