Premed 101 Forums

No idea where I stand (GPA)

I'm a Quebec resident who is currently studying at UofT. I would "LOVE" to go to a french medical school but the problem is GPA. I have no idea what sort of GPA would be needed.

1.How would somebody with a 3.5 from a Biology major do?

Side not when is the best time to apply. And since I'm an anglo. when do I write the french test?

I'm a Quebec resident who is currently studying at UofT. I would "LOVE" to go to a french medical school but the problem is GPA. I have no idea what sort of GPA would be needed.

1.How would somebody with a 3.5 from a Biology major do?

Side not when is the best time to apply. And since I'm an anglo. when do I write the french test?

well nobody can be certain about the gpa question... your best bet is to try... for the french test.. its once you apply they either ask you to do the french test while they process the application (mtl) or after you get an offer (laval) ...

another thing, how is your french, if you are able to speak/write in french that there shouldnt be a problem, but if you dont speak well that it wouldnt be very useful for you to apply...

• 3 months later...
Sorry to bring the bad news, but 3.5 is not enough. Not in Biology. You would need something like 95% to get in french medical schools.

I don't agree with that....

3.50/4.0 = 3.792/4.333

Using the excel calculator that was mentionned in University of Montreal>Calculate you CRU thread, I could calculate your R score for a Bachelor in Biology according to the force of this program at University of Laval (hopefully, B. Sc. in Biology at UofT would be of greater force than at laval, resulting in a greater CRU).

It's not amazing, but I don't think it's impossible you get accepted on second turn.

Your calculated CRU : 31.685