Premed 101 Forums

Studying for MCAT, but have no Physics or Chem background

How much time do you have to study for it? I'd suggest doing at least half the coursework (e.g. physics I and chem I) before going into it. I know someone on another forum who had a ridiculously high GPA and great ECs, so obviously an intelligent and hardworking person, but she only scored a 22 - and yes, she had no pre-reqs. I took my MCAT w/o Orgo II and superficial knowledge of Gen Chem II (I had withdrawn from the course), and got a 10 on BS and 12 on PS. I had studied for 5 months though, 4-6 hours a day on average.

I wrote my MCAT after my first year of University, missing physics, but having just taken all the other sciences. I scored 37R, with my highest section being physical sciences at a 14. I studied for 2.5 months, studying 1.5-2 hours EVERY SINGLE NIGHT. I did not take a course. I purchased a large MCAT review book from Princeton Review which really helped me to focus my studies and organize my time. I would do one chapter a night plus any related studying from old notes, text books etc. as I felt I needed to, depending on how unfamiliar the material was. Bottom line, physics can be done even if you don't have university physics, but you HAVE to put in the time. Good luck! :D

• 2 weeks later...
Hi,

I was just wondering if anyone in the past have written the MCAT w/out phys or chem background. i just wanted to know how well you did and how you studied for these courses.

The only physics course I have taken was one year of high school physics back in the early 90's. I took first year chemistry at the University of Waterloo in 1995. Needless to say, I had very little background. However, I was still able to pull off a 12 in Physical Sciences.