Premed 101 Forums

ECs vs. volunteering, what's the difference?

Sorry for the noob question but what is the difference between ECs and Volunteer activities? How would you classify one activity as EC or volunteer?

I ask this because I'm goingt o apply this year and looking at the application, i realized that i have lots of volunteer experience but 0 ECs (according to my definition that they need to be done on campus). Would my application be seen as lacking if I have 0 ECs but lots of volunteer, some employment/research, and some personal activites?.

I don't think there are that many differences, but I were to try and differentiate between the two, I would say volunteering=volunteering and EC=more activity stuff where ur not really volunteering your service, i.e., sports. I dunno if that was helpful.

Maybe if you could let us know wut activities u did, would help.

i think EC's can be anything you do outside of academics...it can include volunteering...but it also includes your other hobbies, interests, and activities...playing sports or musical instruments, membership in various clubs, painting, etc are all EC's but not necessarily volunteering...your application should be good with lots of volunteer/employment/research activities, but it's also a good idea to include some of your hobbies or stuff you do only for you in your free time...these are your EC's...they don't have to be done on campus...

i think EC's can be anything you do outside of academics...it can include volunteering...but it also includes your other hobbies, interests, and activities...playing sports or musical instruments, membership in various clubs, painting, etc are all EC's but not necessarily volunteering...your application should be good with lots of volunteer/employment/research activities, but it's also a good idea to include some of your hobbies or stuff you do only for you in your free time...these are your EC's...they don't have to be done on campus...