Premed 101 Forums

MUN Admission Stats

hi all,

Just wondering if memorial has released admission statistics anywhere...

i.e. # of applicants in province, # of applicants OOP, accepted, rejected, GPA, etc etc

I'm an OOP student considering applying but noticed a small class size (60), and am wondering what the chances are or likelihood of OOP applicants to be successful.

Thanks!

OOPS stats suck for most schools in Canada (except Ontario, I think), but other than the hit to the bank account and your time, I don't think it would hurt to apply. A family friend got into MUN 2 years ago, Ontario resident, and it was the only school that accepted him. I got into U of Saskatchewan this year (also Ontario resident), they only take 6 OOPs, and it was also my only acceptance. My suggestion is to maximize your odds and apply everywhere you're eligible, but that's just my $.02

I'm gonna agree with the above. If you can afford the application fee (and possible plane ticket), go for it.

I got into Dal as an OOP, even though competition was tight this year. 440 applicants for 9 seats. Didn't think I had a shot, tried it anyway, got accepted to my surprise. Same happened with Queen's, even though the competition wasn't as tight since they don't have IP and OOP seats.

The one thing I don't like about MUN's policy is how they state on their website that there is no strict GPA or MCAT cutoff to be considered, when in fact they do have a cutoffs that they calculate after everyone has submitted their application.

But yeah, I guess I'd have to agree with the other posters - even a small chance is better than no chance at all!