Premed 101 Forums

English...

Hi, everyone!

This is my first post. I've found so much great information from this forum ever since I was in high school and now I need some direct help...

I am in my 3rd year now, majoring in psychology and life science at UofT. My GPA is around 3.9 and I have little bits of volunteering activities (hospital, charity organization). I don't have any particular leadership role. But, I certainly have hobbies that I enjoy and am proud of. I also worked at a psychology lab last year. I might be able to get an NSERC next summer, but I am not so sure about it yet.

So... this is my situation... I am an East-Asian girl. It's been a little more than 6 years since I came to Canada and now I have the citizenship. But, somehow my English speaking skill hasn't improve so much and is not perfect. I have an accent and often have a hard time expressing myself completely.

(I haven't written the MCAT yet, but hopefully I will get 10 on each section...) My problem is conversation... Since it is only less than a year away from applying to medical schools, it is a great concern of mine that I might get rejected from all schools due to my poor interview performance.

I really need some advice as to what I should do about this. Should I give up on medical school hopes? I know that most medical schools (except for UofT, to some extent) put a really heavy emphasis on good inteview score...

For medical students out there... Could you please tell me if there are any students in your classes whose English conversation skill is not so good?

Thank you very much for reading...

Best regards,

akangaroo