Premed 101 Forums

lots of questions about US schools!

codeblue

Hello,

I am a Ontario resident currently in 2nd year of a health science undergrad. I am fortunate enough to be able to get my dual-citizenship with the US, so I was wondering about what it takes to apply down there.

These questions are for both MD/DO schools:

First off... does anyone know if my new dual-citizenship status (yet to be declared) will reduce tuition fee's, or affect my application in anyway?

What is the general requirments of US med schools in terms of prereq courses or years taken at the undergraduate level ?

Is the MCAT required at all schools ?

Is it easy to come back to Canada after school?

Thank you so much for your answers!

Hello,

I am a Ontario resident currently in 2nd year of a health science undergrad. I am fortunate enough to be able to get my dual-citizenship with the US, so I was wondering about what it takes to apply down there.

These questions are for both MD/DO schools:

First off... does anyone know if my new dual-citizenship status (yet to be declared) will reduce tuition fee's, or affect my application in anyway?

What is the general requirments of US med schools in terms of prereq courses or years taken at the undergraduate level ?

Is the MCAT required at all schools ?

Is it easy to come back to Canada after school?

Thank you so much for your answers!

Main advantage of having dual citizenship: you qualify for financial aid/Stafford loans, don't have to deal with H1B hassles for residency (although speaking to a few residency directors / current intl' students at US schools, they don't feel it's an issue).

I'm pretty sure all US schools (at least the ones worth attending) require the MCAT and weigh it heavily.

Easy to come back to Canada...hard to say. I've been trying to find that out on the interview trail, speaking with current intl/Canadian students. Most have no clue and/or don't seem worried.

to add to kennethtoronto's post: