Premed 101 Forums

GPA and Admissions

I'm applying this summer and everyones GPA and MCATs here are so amazing! It makes me so worried! I'm an Alberta resident going to UWO for undergrad and my pre-req average is 3.73 (orgochem killed me!) and my overall average of the last 3 years was 3.81. My MCAT wasn't stellar, except for my writing: 10B, 11P, 10V, S.

Does UofA take your best 3/4 even if you're applying after you've finished your 3rd year? Or does that only apply for those who applying after they've finished 4yrs?

My EC's are pretty good though I think. I actually really enjoy volunteering and I don't just do it for the med application, so I've got everything from hospital work, research, club exec to even grooming cats =) lol But looking at these marks, i'm just afraid i'll get rejected straight out because my GPAs aren't high enough.

• 3 months later...

Hi, sorry to bring up a 3 month old thread, but what was the answer to this question?

I emailed the U of A coordinator about it, and got some irrelevant information about graduate students.

Just to rephrase, do they still take of a lowest year GPA if you apply during 4th year studies(precisely during fall semester)?

Also, would I be considered a 4th year applicant or 3rd year applicant?

I'm applying this summer and everyones GPA and MCATs here are so amazing! It makes me so worried! I'm an Alberta resident going to UWO for undergrad and my pre-req average is 3.73 (orgochem killed me!) and my overall average of the last 3 years was 3.81. My MCAT wasn't stellar, except for my writing: 10B, 11P, 10V, S.

Does UofA take your best 3/4 even if you're applying after you've finished your 3rd year? Or does that only apply for those who applying after they've finished 4yrs?