Premed 101 Forums

cold feet

My deadline is fast approaching and as it does I am feeling some doubt as to whether I really want to go if I get accepted. I guess it is cold feet but think about having to quit my job and my security to venture into a whole new place to become a student again, with all the stress and studies and loans. Has anyone ever felt this way?

hehehe Probably every older applicant :) We all have more to lose in as sense, it is only logical that we would be more likely to get "cold feet".

I am a full blown professional programmer, so going to medical school means giving up a really great job. It's not easy, but its the old where do you want to be in 10 years scenario.

thanks for the reassurance. I have a career already and have had a GREAT job with lots of perks for the past 4 years and if I give it up, it would be very unlikely that I would ever be able to work my way back into it. I guess I am not alone feeling this way.

So are you now in med school? What was your background? And have you ever had any regrets? Like "I could be kicked back watching tv or walking the dog now instead of studying anatomy?" or wished that you stayed where you were??

4th year UWO. Some poor SOB is going to have me as his physician on July 1st. Did an engineering degree and worked for a while before med school. No regrets, although I don't look too closely at my line-of-credit statements. It's just less painful that way...

I wasn`t sure up until the day I got accepted...even then, I was hesitant and figured I would try it out for a bit and if I found it wasn`t for me then just do something else (if it was early enough that my debt wasn`t huge yet).

But I think once you get an acceptance letter you can see how you feel. Honestly though, I had a hard time sorting out if I was excited cause the whole process of applying and getting accepted was over or if it was cause it was what I actually wanted to do.