Premed 101 Forums

My chances?

Hello

I am 39 yrs old. I just completed my Masters in Nursing with a GPA of 4.0. I did a course based masters that had 11 courses in a 2 year program. My undergraduate in Bachelor of Nursing had the following gpa's.

Yr 1. 2.86 with 1 F

Yr 2. 2.54 with 1 F

Yr 3. 3.55

Yr 4. 3.76

I wrote my MCAT's this summer and had 10 10 10 and Q

What are my chances of getting into medicine. Is it even worth trying with my low gpa's or should I do a Phd and then apply. How would a Phd with a 4.0 gpa look on my application.

Thank you for all the input.

N

what are your undergrad marks like? Did you read the to old for medicine thread? You would obviously be a poor investment of taxpayers money. I jest. I'm 37 so 39 is not that far off. 10 courses over 2 years is not a full load and most schools use undergrad marks to calculate your GPA for admissions. Your last 2 years are okay and some schools will weight them higher or only consider your best 2 years. It is absolutely worth applying with your marks all the young premed keeners on here get so caught up in grades and forget that the 3.8ish is an average and people with 3.5 get in all the time, granted fewer of them but it is possible. I don't think a PhD is the best thing to do to get into med school, especially since it is a longer term commitment, I think you probably be better off doing another year of undergrad courses and excelling. What are your prereq marks like? Pulling your MCAT up would help not that there is anything wrong with 30. Where you will probably stand out is your life experience, your marks just have to be good enough to get your foot in the door.

Thank you Dave for the encouraging words. i agree with you.